blackcatcabinchronicles


Motor Biking the Blue Ridge
November 3, 2011, 1:23 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

It was chilly this morning, about 33 degrees.  I guess that actually counts as cold, one degree above freezing and all.  After getting up in the dark and greeting the sliver of dawn above the trees lining the eastern field of the farm, my daughter and I drove to her school where we helped make a pancake, egg and sausage breakfast for any student who wishes to have it.  This is our Wednesday morning ritual and a way of offering service to the school.  It is fun to meet the students and see some of the teachers before their day begins.

Instead of working today ( I know I am on deadline for Friday- I promise to finish the story tomorrow, really) I went for a motorcycle ride with my old high school flame.  He rented an off road BMW and zipped to Black Cat Cabin from our home town about 60 miles away to don me with a helmet and special wind breaker jacket to take a ride on the Blue Ridge Parkway.  By the time he arrived the temperature had warmed up to about 50 and I admit, even though he is an expert motorcyclist (he recently road from Colorado to Argentina), I was a teeny bit nervous at first as am rarely so exposed on the highway.  But after a rather long stop at vineyard for a tasting and a fantastic al fresco lunch of salami, goat cheese, dolmas and a glass of Meritage, I was relaxed and happy as a clam.

The leaves are a bit past their peak in the mountains but stunning in the valley.  Once up on the Parkway we even saw the remnants of last weekend’s early season snow storm which gave the  November day the feeling of a bridge between fall and winter.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

