blackcatcabinchronicles


cooking challenges
November 28, 2011, 11:40 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

A challenge at Black Cat Cabin is the kitchen.  Although the kitchen offers only the basic appliances; an electric stove with oven, an old refrigerator and a dishwasher.  These appliances are from the 1980’s and were rather low end to begin with.  What is lacking (and I have learned have become very important in my life) are a microwave and a garbage disposal. 

To make matters a bit more challenging, during the move to the cabin from my charming Cape Cod in the city 60 miles away, the box bearing my kitchen tools (CuisineArt food processor, KitchenAid mixer attachments, waffle maker, panini maker and other sundry gadgets) disappeared.  Yep, it made it out of the city house and not into Black Cat Cabin.  How it was lost along the way is a mystery since my friends helped me move and I know nothing was left on the truck.  At this point in my career replacing these items is out of the question.

Anyway, I do have my toaster oven which has proved invaluable. But I have had to remember how to prepare food without the speed of a microwave to do things like melt butter, make nachos or bake a potato in a few minutes.  Everything must be heated stovetop, in the oven, or served cold.  That means a bigger mess to clean up and more energy used.

Sometimes I lack the energy to deal with the time or hassle of cleaning up.  Remember, there are mice in the kitchen so everything must be cleaned up before going to bed to discourage the little buggers.  So sometimes I simply don’t eat because it is too cold to eat something cold and too much work to prepare something in the oven or on the stove and clean it up and I have eaten enough nut butter to sink a battle ship.

My mom plans to give me a microwave for Christmas and a couple of attachments for my mixer which should dramatically change our lives.  

This affords a greater appreciation for the little things.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

